Arkansas Labor Laws

In 2020, the minimum wage is $10.00 / hour.

In Arkansas, the tipped minimum wage is $2.13/hour.

In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($7.25 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($5.12 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total. 

Employers are required to provide break periods of at least 30 minutes for minors ages 14 through 17 who work 5 or more consecutive hours and are going to continue to work. Employers are not required to give breaks for employees 18 and over. If your employer allows breaks, and they last less than 20 minutes, you must be paid for the break. If your employer allows meal periods, the employer is not required to pay you for your meal period if it lasts more than 20 minutes and you do no work during that time.

Employers are not required to provide employees with sick leave benefits, either paid or unpaid.

If a company or corporation terminates the employee, the employee’s wages are due by the next regular payday. If the employer fails to make payment within 7 days of the next regular payday then the employer shall owe the employee double the wages due.

You can reach out directly to the Arkansas Department of Labor by clicking HERE. In addition, below is our list of recommended labor lawyers to help you out.

Employment Law Firms

McMath Woods

McMath Woods P.A. is a firm of Trial Lawyers, providing innovative, aggressive, and ethical representation to plaintiffs in the civil justice system for over half a century. The attorneys provide representation in most types of personal injury and wrongful death cases, including car accidents, injury from defective products, workplace injuries, and more.