In 2022, Kansas’ state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour.
The current minimum wage for tipped employees is $2.13.
In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($7.25 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($5.12 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total.
Kansas does not require employers to provide meal or rest breaks.
If an employer pays a processing fee to accept credit cards from customers (for example, 3% of the total bill charged to the credit card), and that customer leaves a tip as part of the credit card payment, the employer is allowed to deduct the employee’s share of the credit card processing charge (for example, 3% of the bill charged to the card) the employee realizes in Kansas. This is the case because Kansas law does not prohibit employers from doing this.