In 2022, Kentucky’s state minimum wage in Kentucky is $7.25 per hour.
Kentucky’s current tipped minimum wage is $2.13.
In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($7.25 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($5.12 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total.
Yes. Employers must provide a reasonable meal break after the third hour and before the fifth hour of work unless a mutual agreement has been made. The meal periods do not have to be paid.
In addition, employers must provide employees with at least 10 minutes of a rest period after every 4 hours of work.
Kentucky law does not require employers to provide employees with sick leave benefits, either paid or unpaid. An employer in Kentucky may be required to provide an employee unpaid sick leave in accordance with the Family and Medical Leave Act or other federal laws.
When you leave employment for any reason your employer has until the next regular payday or fourteen (14) days whichever last occurs.
Your employer may change your rate of pay so long as you are informed of the change prior to working any hours at the new rate. In other words, the change cannot be retroactive.
You can reach out directly to Kentucky’s Department of Labor by clicking HERE. In addition, below is our list of recommended labor lawyers to help you out!