In 2022, Louisiana’s state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour.
The tipped minimum wage in Louisiana is $2.13 per hour.
In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($7.25 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($5.12 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total.
Louisiana does not have any laws requiring an employer to provide a meal period or breaks to employees eighteen (18) years of age or older.
It is legal for an employer to pass the tip-portion of the credit card transaction fee off to the employee.
Louisiana does not have any laws requiring an employer to provide paid sick days to their employees.