Compared to most other states, Massachusetts’ Department of Labor has a litany of useful information on their website. If the question you’re looking to have answered is not on here, check out MA’s Department of Labor website.
Massachusetts’ state minimum wage rate is $12.75 per hour.
Tipped employees minimum wage is $4.95 as of January 1, 2020. This rate will go up in steps to reach $6.75 per hour in January 2023.
In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($12.75 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($7.80 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total.
Workers have a right to at least a 30-minute meal break for each 6 hours worked in a calendar day. During their meal break, workers must be free of all duties and free to leave the workplace. This break may be unpaid. Employers may require workers to take their meal breaks. To learn more about your right to a meal break, check out this FAQ.
Massachusetts is one of the few states to prohibit the practice of making employees pay for credit card transaction fees. To learn more about the MA law, click this link.
The short answer is, likely yes. Most workers in Massachusetts have the right to earn and use up to 40 hours of job-protected sick time per year to take care of themselves and certain family members. Workers must earn at least one hour of earned sick leave for every 30 hours worked. To learn more about the paid sick days policy, head to this helpful FAQ site.