Maryland’s state minimum wage rate is $11.00 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage.
Maryland employers must pay at least $3.63 per hour. This amount plus tips must equal at least the State Minimum Wage Rate.
In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($11.00 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($7.37 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total.
No. The shift break law of 2011 carved out restaurant workers. To learn more about this unhelpful act, click here.
As long as they are not charging you more than the cost of the transaction fee, it is legal in Maryland.