Missouri Labor Laws

Missouri’s state minimum wage rate is $9.45 per hour. With the passage of Proposition B, the minimum wage is set to increase to $10.30 in 2021.

The minimum wage for tipped employees is $4.73.

Employers must pay at least one and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay once overtime pay is in effect. Overtime pay begins once an employee works more than 40 hours in a work week rather than more than 8 hours in a work day. State and federal law does not allow employees to voluntarily waive their rights to overtime pay and accept straight time instead. Any employer that asks an employee to do so violates the law and employees should​ file a wage complaint.

There are currently no Missouri state laws regarding breaks or lunch periods. These issues might be addressed by company policy, or could be covered by union contract. 

If an employer pays a processing fee to accept credit cards from customers (for example, 3% of the total bill charged to the credit card), and that customer leaves a tip as part of the credit card payment, the employer may be allowed to deduct the employee’s share of the credit card processing charge (for example, 3%) of the bill charged to the card the employee realizes in Missouri. Employers are allowed to do this because Missouri law does not specifically address this issue.

Employers are not required to provide paid or unpaid sick leave but must comply with their own established policies in their employer/employee contract if they choose to implement one.

 

Employment Law Firms

Riggan Law Firm LLC

4.7/5

At Riggan Law Firm, the attorneys understand the difficulties associated with employment law issues, and you can be sure that they will work to help you pursue the results that you need and deserve. The employment law firm is dedicated to safeguarding the workplace rights of employees in Missouri and Illinois.