Montana’s minimum wage is $8.65 per hour.
Tipped employees in the state of Montana make $8.65 per hour. There is no separate minimum wage for tipped employees; they must be paid the standard rate.
There is not a federal or Montana state law that requires an employer to furnish a rest break, however, if provided the time spent on the break is work time. Learn more.
Where tips or service charges are charged on a credit card and the employer must pay the credit card company a percentage on each sale, the employer may pay the employee the tip, less that percentage. The employer must keep records of all such deductions.
Read more about Tips and Service Charges
Employers are not required to provide paid or unpaid sick leave but must comply with their own established policies if they choose to implement one.