As of January 1, 2022, Rhode Island’s state minimum wage rate is $12.25 per hour.
Rhode Island’s minimum wage for tipped employees is $3.89.
In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($12.25 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($8.36 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total.
In Rhode Island, employers must give employees a 20-minute meal break for a six-hour shift, and a 30-minute meal break for an eight-hour shift.
If an employer pays a processing fee to accept credit cards from customers, and that customer leaves a tip as part of the credit card payment, whether the employer is allowed to deduct the employees share of the credit card processing charge is not addressed in Rhode Island law.
Covered Rhode Island employers must allow eligible employees to accrue one hour of sick leave for every 35 hours worked, up to 24 hours in 2018. Employees must be permitted to carry over accrued but unused sick and safe leave from one year to the next year. More about this policy can be found here.