As of 2022, Tennessee’s state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour.
Tennessee employers can pay as little as $2.13 an hour, as long as the employee earns enough in tips to add up to the federal minimum wage.
In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($7.25 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($5.12 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total.
Tennessee does not have a law regarding providing breaks to employees.
As long as the fee does not exceed the cost of the transaction fee, it is generally allowed.
Tennessee does not have a paid sick days law.