In 2022, Utah’s state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour.
Utah’s minimum wage for tipped employees is $2.13.
In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($7.25 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($5.12 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total.
Utah does not require employers to provide breaks, including lunch breaks, for workers eighteen (18) years old or older.
Utah regulations specifically allow employers to deduct an employee’s pro rata share of the credit card processing fee from that employee’s tip.
There is no Utah law requiring private employers to grant their employees sick leave, paid or unpaid.