As of January 1, 2022, Vermont’s state minimum wage rate is $12.55 per hour.
Vermont allows employers to take a tip credit. Employers must pay tipped employees at least $6.28 an hour, effective January 1, 2022. If an employee doesn’t earn enough in tips to bring his or her total compensation up to at least the full state minimum wage rate an hour, the employer must make up the difference.
In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($12.55 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($6.28 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total.
Vermont state law mandates that “a reasonable opportunity” to eat a meal must be provided to all employees. This meal break may be unpaid if it is at least 30 minutes long, but only if the employee is completely relieved of his or her duties. … Vermont law does not provide specifically for any other rest breaks.
Vermont allows employers to deduct an employee’s pro rata share of the credit card processing fee from that employee’s tip. The Vermont Department of Labor suggests that employers should advise employees if they follow this practice, in the employee handbook or a written memo.
If your primary workplace is in Vermont, you are eligible for up to 40 hours of paid sick time per year at your regular hourly wage. Employers can provide the leave in one lump sum or tie it to the number of hours you have worked — one hour of sick time for every 52 hours of actual work.