Florida’s minimum wage for 2020 is $8.56 per hour. The minimum wage rate is recalculated yearly on September 30, based on the Consumer Price Index.
The minimum cash wage payable to employees who receive tips is $5.54 per hour.
In calculating the overtime rate for the tipped employee, the restaurateur must multiply the minimum wage ($8.56 per hour) by 1½ (1.5), subtract the tip credit ($3.02 per hour), multiply that figure by the number of overtime hours worked, and then add that sum to their 40-hour total.
Tip pooling is permitted under Florida state law.
There aren’t any laws in Florida prohibiting employers from making employees cover the cost of the credit card transaction fee.
Florida labor laws require employers to grant a meal period of at least 30 minutes to employees under the age of 18 who work for more than 4 hours continuously.
Florida does not have any laws requiring an employer to provide a meal period or breaks to employees 18 years of age or older, thus the federal rule applies. The federal rule does not require an employer to provide either a meal (lunch) period or breaks.
There are no current requirements for Florida employers to provide paid sick days to their employees.
Florida defers to federal law, which requires employers to provide the final paycheck during regular payday for the last pay period.