ABOUT US

OUR TEAM

DIRECTOR

Sekou Siby

Sekou Siby

Executive Director

French teacher in his native Africa, Sekou Siby is a founding member of the Restaurant Opportunities Center of New York ROCNY, nonprofit workers’ center that organizes restaurant workers for improved working conditions in the NYC restaurant industry. 

A former cook at Windows on the World, atop the World Trade Center, Siby joined the ROC-NY staff in 2003 as a Community Organizer. While in this position, he spearheaded at least four campaigns, bringing hundreds of workers to victory against their employers. He has been one of the Co-Executive Directors of ROCNY from January 2008 to May 2012. 

Siby Joined ROC-United in June 2012 and holding the position of Deputy Director. He holds an MBA degree from the University of Phoenix and is the Executive Director of ROC-UNITED since September 2017.

read more

NATIONAL STAFF

Raymond Pettit

Senior Grants Officer

Pete Vargas

Interim Local Organizing Director

Yamila Ruiz

High Road Director

Eva Putzova

Director of Communications

Steven Piasecki

Communications Coordinator

Daniel Kota

Technology Solutions Administrator

Teófilo Reyes

Research Director

Geeta Seebe-Taddeo

Senior Finance Manager

Larry Swetman

National Coordinator of Digital Organizing

Marie Wiggins

Leslie Escobosa

Executive Assistant and Interim HR Deputy Director

Jordan Romanus

National Lead Organizer

ROC United Board of Directors

Dayna Cunningham

Director, MIT Innovations Lab

Woong Chang

ROC-DC Member

Jennifer Herman

MKJ Communications

Abel Valenzuela

Professor, University of California at Los Angeles

LOCAL ROC CHAPTERS

Minnesota

Minnesota

Contact: Eli Edleson-Stein
eli@rocunited.org
NOLA

NOLA

Contact: Laura Ekua
laura.e@rocunited.org
Bay Area

Bay Area

1825 San Pablo Avenue
Oakland, CA 94612
510-761-7622

Contact: Maricela Gutierrez
maricela@rocunited.org
Boston

Boston

9a Hamilton Place
Boston, MA 02108
Contact: Yamila Ruiz
Yamila@rocunited.org
Chicago

Chicago

1 N. State St
Suite #1553
Chicago, IL 60602
312-629-2892
Contact: Nataki Rhodes
nataki@rocunited.org
Los Angeles

Los Angeles

3055 Wilshire Blvd
3rd Floor, Room S
Los Angeles, CA 90010

213-380-1020
Contact: Manuel Villanueva
manuel@rocunited.org
Michigan

Michigan

311 E Grand River Ave.
Detroit, MI 48226
313-962-5020
Contact: Alicia Renee Farris
alicia@rocunited.org
New York

New York

275 7th Ave
Suite 1703
17th Floor
New York, NY 10001
212-343-1771
Contact: Alvaro Chavez
al@rocunited.org
Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania

1329 Buttonwood St.
3rd Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19123

215-867-9747
Contact: Samuel Jones
samuel@rocunited.org
Washington DC

Washington DC

1100 Florida Ave NW
2nd Floor
Washington DC, 20009
202-559-7498
Contact: Sophia Miyoshi
sophia.m@rocunited.org