ABOUT US

OUR TEAM

DIRECTOR

Sekou Siby

Sekou Siby

Executive Director

Siby leads the national staff to support membership operations, training and education programs, community and public engagement, as well as policy advocacy and organizational development. Under his leadership, ROC United is building worker power, and promoting policies that improve the lives of restaurant workers and their communities. Siby’s inspiring story tells a remarkable rise from his native Ivory Coast to New York City, where he survived the 9/11 terrorist attacks. He first worked as a cab driver, a cook at the Windows on the World, and then co-founded ROC United, managing and organizing major campaigns and bringing hundreds of restaurant workers to victory against wage theft and wage inequality. A polyglot — speaking six languages — Siby was featured in major national publications and television networks. In 2018, he was awarded the prestigious National Leading from the Inside Out Yearlong Fellowship by the Rockwood Leadership Institute. He holds an MBA from the University of Phoenix School of Business and is finishing up his doctoral studies at.

read more

NATIONAL STAFF

Raymond Pettit

Associate Director of Institutional Giving

Eva Putzova

Communications and Technology Director

Al Chavez

National Deputy Director of Organizing and Campaigns

Anthony Advincula

Public Affairs Officer

Teófilo Reyes

Research Director

Geeta Seebe-Taddeo

Senior Finance Manager

Dr. Alicia Renee Farris

National Deputy Director and HR Director

Leslie Escobosa

Executive Assistant and HR Deputy Director

ROC United Board of Directors

Dayna Cunningham

Director, MIT Innovations Lab

Woong Chang

ROC-DC Member

Jennifer Herman

MKJ Communications

Abel Valenzuela

Professor, University of California at Los Angeles

LOCAL ROC CHAPTERS

Minnesota

Minnesota

Contact: Eli Edleson-Stein
eli@rocunited.org
NOLA

NOLA

Contact: Laura Ekua
laura.e@rocunited.org
Bay Area

Bay Area

1825 San Pablo Avenue
Oakland, CA 94612
510-761-7622

Contact: Maricela Gutierrez
maricela@rocunited.org
Boston

Boston

9a Hamilton Place
Boston, MA 02108
Contact: Yamila Ruiz
Yamila@rocunited.org
Chicago

Chicago

1 N. State St
Suite #1553
Chicago, IL 60602
312-629-2892
Contact: Nataki Rhodes
nataki@rocunited.org
Los Angeles

Los Angeles

3055 Wilshire Blvd
3rd Floor, Room S
Los Angeles, CA 90010

213-380-1020
Contact: Manuel Villanueva
manuel@rocunited.org
Michigan

Michigan

311 E Grand River Ave.
Detroit, MI 48226
313-962-5020
Contact: Alicia Renee Farris
alicia@rocunited.org
New York

New York

275 7th Ave
Suite 1703
17th Floor
New York, NY 10001
212-343-1771
Contact: Alvaro Chavez
al@rocunited.org
Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania

1329 Buttonwood St.
3rd Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19123

215-867-9747
Contact: Samuel Jones
samuel@rocunited.org
Washington DC

Washington DC

1100 Florida Ave NW
2nd Floor
Washington DC, 20009
202-559-7498
Contact: Sophia Miyoshi
sophia.m@rocunited.org